Cinderella meet Pachelbel, Pachelbel meet Cinderella

Cinderella is my violin, Johann Pachelbel is a German Baroque composer who just happened to compose my absolute favourite violin piece to date, “Canon in D-major”. Lately, they’ve become very well acquainted, if you know what I mean.

Last year, I went to a Cello concert of the Chu Yi-Bing Cello Ensemble at my university (Communication University of China) and bought the CD after the concert was done. “Canon in D” was the last song on the CD and at first I thought, “Oh, wedding song”, but I found myself playing it over and over and over. Then I went on YouTube, and they had even more beautiful versions of the song, so I think I actually became a little obsessed with it. For days, that was the only song I would play over and over and over and then I’d imagine myself playing it. (Sounds a lot like a principle from the book “The Secret)

Originally, my teacher told me that I would have to be playing for 4 years before I could start learning “Canon in D”, but I guess she had a change of heart and gave me the sheet music to practice about 1 month now. It is pretty difficult, but I don’t care one bit. Learning it and playing it makes me happy.

So that post I wrote earlier, where I said my 1 year violin goal is to learn to play Canon in D, that might actually happen.

2 thoughts on “Cinderella meet Pachelbel, Pachelbel meet Cinderella

  1. So good to read this. I too am in love with that song. Always have been. It’s quite delightful isn’t it!? I can’t wait to hear you play it 😀

  2. Danielle …..interesting …a few years ago I had a CD with Canon in D Major ….this was the track that I had to repeat each time I played that CD. There is something about Canon in D …..The video is delightful……So you may soon find that you have to share your love of the steel pan with that of the violin : )

Leave a Reply

