If You Can’t Beat ‘Em, Join ‘Em

Smoggy view from my window
Smoggy view from my window

It’s no secret that the pollution in Beijing is terrible. Most people are familiar with the strange images of people walking around in masks as though they took their surgical practice out into the streets. Since I’ve been here, I have resisted buying a mask…well maybe 2 years ago I bought a few, but I never really used them, much to the distress of my mother and sister. But recently, the smog has been terrible, not only because I would wake up and wonder if someone painted my window white in the middle of the night as a practical joke, but also because my lungs have not been happy with me. So I “caved” and bought a mask.

Have a look at my new mask.

I really bought this particular one because I didn’t want a cloth  mask that I had to wash and dry all the time, so I got a plastic mask. It just arrived today,  and I just took a walk outside to go to a restaurant and also to try it out.  I felt pretty self conscious at first, but after 1 minute or 2, I realised hat one of the nice things about living in China is that no one cares what you look like…well maybe the other foreigners do, but there are less of us than than there are Chinese. I think my lungs will be thanking me tomorrow.

Lake beside the Supermarket in the morning on my way to class. There is supposed to be a huge glass building just behind the lake.
Lake beside the Supermarket in the morning on my way to class. There is supposed to be a huge glass building just behind the lake.

 

The supermarket in the morning on my way to class
The supermarket in the morning on my way to class

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20141020_170047
Front view of mask
Side view of mask
Side view of mask
4 thoughts on “If You Can’t Beat ‘Em, Join ‘Em

  1. haha!few minutes?umm u dont get to just wear it to the subway and take it off, plus someone loves exploring so someone’s going to be looking like a bug for a lil more than a few minutes..hehe!but yeah it’s worth it i guess

  2. oh my gosh!!!!noooo u went and got a Darth Vader mask dude???didnt they have em any cuter and not so much”quarantine zone: hazardous chemicals. Please keep off” types?

    1. Haha, honestly, in the picture online, it looked a lot more chic that it actually is. The way I look at it is, looking like a bug for a few minutes is preferable to a chest infection.

Leave a Reply

