My Mind Ran Off Instead of Writing my Essay

Sometimes I look at other people (Chinese people to be specific) and I feel like they are someone I could have met anywhere else in the world; someone who I could relate to and I them because we grew up in similar environments and we could talk about our experiences and connect with them in a way I have connected with others my whole life. Then they open their mouth and Madarin comes out and it shocks me out of my fantasy bubble. It doesn’t happen often, but it still happens even now, even after 3 years. Even after 3 years I still have moments of disbelief. I’ve gotten used to the rabbit hole and made friends with the Cheshire Cat, but every now and then my mind subtly reminds me that I came from another world very different to this one and it’s only a matter of time before I will realise it was a dream.

Leave a Reply

